Monde et Montres...

Monde et Montres...

REVIEW: VERTIGO "Medusa" Red

In my recent desire of a red watch, I started to buy the MECCANICHE VENEZIANE (MV) Nereide, and at the same time I ordered a competitor, with the purpose to compare them, and at the end to keep only one, not only based on rational criteria, but also on my personnal taste!

The competitor is the VERTIGO Medusa, in pre-ordering. I sent my command mid-march 2021, and the watch has been delivered in June (18th) as expected... That's a first good point!

Note, VERTIGO is an Italian brand (made by Andrea Crognale), like MECCANICHE VENEZIANE (MV). Do I have a tendancy for Italian design?

The shipment is neat, a cardboard outer box reveals a magnificent lacquered wooden box of an unexpected quality for the price (270 € when I pre-ordered, 370 € now)




We open the box and discover the watch...




The watch has moderate dimensions (Diameter of 41mm, lug-width is up to 22mm, lug to lug of 48mm).

 


The dial is advertised as red (Red) but tends a little towards burgundy, with a gradient towards black on the edges, avoiding an overly garish effect. No date, but that doesn't bother me, especially on a diver watch. The indexes are painted, marked and visible. The hands look a bit like fliegers, I think, which gives it a bit of an original feel. Small drawback, the second hand does not have a luminova ... May be I would have prefered a lollipop shape, with luminova inside.

 

 

The case-back represents the mythological character of Medusa, which gives its name to the model. The engraving is very qualitative, really very nice.

 


The movement is a Seiko NH35, automatic with 41h of power reserve, and the announced water resistance is 30atm, with a screw-down caseback and crown, which is comfortable for occasional divers ... Note the absence of shape in the case to protect the crown. An overall thickness of 15mm may seem a bit thick, but on the wrist it doesn't bother me at all...

 


A final glimpse to the watch my wrist ... In the end, I really like the overall result, the perfect watch for the summer?



(+): Moderate dimensions. The superb engraved caseback, screw-down caseback and crown, water-resistance to 30atm

(-): Lugwidth of 22mm (20mm is more classic, easier to switch straps), the hands a little too "Flieger" for my taste without luminova on the second hand, no crown protector.

 

More info: https://www.vertigowatches.com/home/watches/diver-watches/vertigo-medusa-red-detail

 



18/06/2021
0 Poster un commentaire

A découvrir aussi


Inscrivez-vous au blog

Soyez prévenu par email des prochaines mises à jour

Rejoignez les 25 autres membres